TRIALS FOR OUR GOOD

When going through suffering (trial, discipline) isn’t our first reaction – “take this away from me” instead of “take me through it”?????
Isn’t our first reaction – “my will be done” instead of “Thou will be done”????

Years ago, a pastor friend made a statement about a mutual friend: this friend reminded
the pastor of Jonah….who was more interested in his own will…his own comfort (see Jonah 4)
than God’s will. My reply was: “Well, Lord, keep the worms coming!”

No doubt most have the initial reaction to a trial: a desire to escape or to be delivered from
the trials. We are not convinced or confident in God’s word that “all things work together for good.”
Some go to great lengths to change the circumstances rather than view it from God’s hand.
If we endure and depend upon the Lord though we are mystified how these trials can
be from the Lord, we learn to stand upon God’s word though seemingly there is no
evidence of good coming from them. We can look back and see over and over He has
“proved” His will in our lives (Rom.12:2). The continuous pressure of the trials are revealing:
we learn the sin nature will never change….and any emotional response out from the sin
nature will not change. The weight of the pressure drives us to the Lord for His remedy.
We learn the workings of Roman 6 truths….and the freedom from the grievous power of
the sin nature ….yielding to it brings us down to “death” (Rom.8:13). How many trips
to this situation until we learn the freedom and joy of God’s solution! We know in
theory it would be best to respond with faith immediately to the trial. I don’t know
about other believers, but this has taken me many years to learn. I dislike the idea
of the “bit and the bridle” being necessary to bring me along in my growth…but
that is what I needed. I thank the Lord He did not give up on me! John 12:24-25. lkp

Leave a Reply

